ConnOTA Annual Awards

*Award Nominations are accepted through February 15, of each year. 

*Awards will be presented at the annual conference each year in March.

*Scroll to bottom to see past award winners.

Award Categories:

*Award of Merit*

To recognize individuals who have attained outstanding accomplishments in clinical practice, research, leadership or innovation and whose body of work is considered exemplary and influential by peers. 


  • Current ConnOTA Membership.
  • Current state licensure and at least 5 years of practice as an OT or OTA  
  • Evidence of accomplishments that are deemed exemplary and influential in the practice of OT.
  • 2 letters of commendation from peers.

*Award of Service* 

To recognize individuals who have made significant contributions in advancing the mission and strategic goals of  ConnOTA and the practice of occupational therapy in the state through community leadership or advocacy.


  • Current ConnOTA Membership.
  • Five years of experience as OT or OTA.
  • Evidence of significant service to the state association or community organizations in the form of leadership or advocacy for the profession and/or clients.

*Fieldwork Educator Award*

To recognize exceptional clinical teaching by occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants that promotes ethical and evidence-based practice and professional advocacy in students.


  • Current ConnOTA Membership.
  • Minimum of five years of practice as a licensed OT or OTA.
  • Proof of at least 2 years of supervision of a Fieldwork Level II student from an accredited OT or OTA program within the State. 

*Emerging Leader Award *

To recognize an occupational therapy student or an early practitioner (5 years of experience or less) who has demonstrated outstanding leadership at the local or organizational and state or national levels. 


  • Current ConnOTA Membership.
  • Student: He/she must be enrolled currently in an occupational therapy (OT/OTA) program within the state. 
  • Practitioner: He/she must have practiced occupational therapy within the State for 12 months.
  • Specific examples of leadership activities that are significantly above the level of his/her peers and which have promoted the provision of OT or the mission of the organization in a demonstrable way.

*Award of Clinical Excellence*

To recognize an OT or OTA who has demonstrated excellence, vision, and clinical expertise within the field of Occupational Therapy.

  • The equivalent of at least 5 years clinical practices as an OT or OTA.
  • Current ConnOTA membership.
  • Demonstrated commitment to provide excellence in clinical services and facilitates/implements change in a positive manner.
  • Strong contributions in peer/student mentoring/supervision and interdisciplinary collaboration thru promoting strong relationships that support a high level of trust and credibility and which encourage innovation and excellence in others.
  • Active participation in innovative personal/program development activities within the work place which has facilitated advancements in the provision or quality of Occupational Therapy services.
  • Recognized by peers as demonstrating strong leadership qualities, inspires others and is seen as a role model for current and future Occupational Therapy Practitioners.

*Presidents Award*

A distinct award given to a ConnOTA member of the President's choice. This may not be awarded annually as it is left to the discretion of the President. The purpose is to recognize a practitioner who exemplifies leadership skills and is focused on the betterment of the organization. 

  • Current ConnOTA Membership.
  • He/she must have practiced occupational therapy within the State for 12 months.


 Historical List of Award Winners

Award winners by year, click here

Award winners by category, click here.